time to bounce.

I had originally intended to post on my last night in CT . . . in some big, dramatic “end of days” tear-jerking moment that was to include oodles of wallowing and lamenting.  Due to a shotty wireless connection at my parents’ house and my own inability to put together coherent sentences on the eve of my departure, that plan was derailed.  Next, I had intended to post upon arrival here in CA . . . in some big, dramatic “what the eff did I just do” tear-jerking moment that was to include oodles of disbelief and terror.  Let’s just say that I am glad I didn’t record my thoughts of that moment because it probably would have sounded something like this:

“Why would anyone want to live in this sunshine-y hellhole with all its smiling jerks and its fruit trees?  I’m so tired, and I’m not sure how I have managed to gain 3 hours while simultaneously losing all of my marbles.  I want my furniture and my skull collection and my mommy/daddy.”

Now, it is not that my lack of perspective here is completely unjustified.  Change on the level that I have been experiencing it would throw even the coolest of cucumbers.  Of course, I am a notorious hot cucumber (um, ew), and these past few weeks have had my dormant adjustment disorder twitching.  I tend to be a catastrophic thinker realist, and because of that (and my annoying ability to see everything in the big picture), it is so easy to breakdown into an overwhelmed, huddled mass on the floor of a completely unfurnished living room in the 92008.  Not that anything like that happened . . .

After a refreshing night’s sleep (a.k.a. passing out on an air mattress in the same clothes I wore on the airplane), the view looks better from here.  Now, I am not going to lie to you and tell you that I have lost ANY of my New England cynicism yet – nice people continue to make me feel suspicious.  One of Nate’s swim families picked us up from the airport (with a handmade sign), took us out for food, and gave us a welcome basket the size of our entire kitchen.  The whole time I am sideways glancing them through squinty, distrustful eyes, wondering what their motivation is.  I had to remind myself that this will be a bit of a culture shock for me . . . and that Nate’s swim families are genuinely nice people who don’t mind taking time out of their day to help.  (For those who don’t know, last time I was out here, they threw Nate and I an amazing wedding shower!)

wasn't kidding about that welcome sign.

guests of honor at our marvelous CA wedding shower - April 2011

I know that once I can make this place feel like a home (and not a college dorm room with a severe organizational problem . . . sorry Nate), then it will be.  I am certainly still in the twilight of disbelief . . . Do I really live in California?  Can I really see palm trees from my window?  Can I really be all the way across the country from my family and friends?  I guess I can afford some wallowing time, but I have to grab this opportunity and make it awesome.  So, I think I’ll stand up (from the living room floor, obviously – there are no chairs here) and get going on this new life of mine.  (Gross.  Did you hear how optimistic that sounded??  Won’t be long before I start drinking the SoCal Kool-Aid.)

Almost forgot! Nate stocked the fridge with my beverage of choice (not Kool-Aid) . . . can’t think of any girls out there that swoon for ginger ale, but swoon I did.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alicia
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 15:44:34

    I loved your blog, Heather. You will fit right in there before you know it and I will let your mom cry on my shoulder on Wed. afternoons. Good luck in your new life, sweetie!

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 19:55:02

    Love you guys (and the Weinberg family). Wallowing is totally acceptable, and you totally have a leg up on me and Pat with Nate already knowing the area and a welcome party!

    Steve and Sandy, Pat and I are only 45 minutes away and you can come visit and pretend we (as a combined unit) are Heather for a day.

    Reply

  3. sharon formica
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 22:28:52

    Wishing you much love and happiness xoxo Sharon

    Reply

  4. Julie Nearing
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 14:48:32

    so great Heather! Keep blogging!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

