epic idea a.k.a. this post is NOT about the heat.

I refuse to blog about the heat.  To some of you, it may seem that I just refuse to blog at all (pretty sure not posting for over a week constitutes a blogging fail).  Honestly, when your entire existence is based around packing, sweating, wedding stuff, toddlers & tiaras, and more heat-infused packing, inspiration is hard to come by.  But, see??  Just in that last sentence, I have already said too much about the heat.  And this post is NOT about the heat.

So what is this epic idea, Weinberg? People are holding their collective breath while on the edge of their collective seat!!  All I wanted today was a freeze pop (for reasons that definitely did NOT have anything to do with the topic we are not discussing . . . starts with an “h” and rhymes with meat).  However, the current food situation in my house has nothing to do with nutritional need or deliciousness and everything to do with finishing up every last crumb before the move while not wasting any of my precious dollars on sustenance.  This translates into freezer burritos, assorted yogurts, frozen edamame, instant noodles, Food Should Taste Good Olive Chips, and Luna Bars.  Absolutely nothing with any of the refreshing qualities possessed by freeze pops.  I spent a good deal of time walking to the fridge, opening it, saying “hmmmm . . .,” and closing it again. Rinse and Repeat.  Then, in a light bulb moment that rivals velcro invention, I remembered that I had a singular Odwalla Superfood Blueberry B Smoothie . . . and what could be more awesomely satisfying than flash freezing that bad boy into a delightful slushy, sherbert-y, fruity treat??  Let me tell you, it did not disappoint, and I am suggesting that everyone try it (even if you do happen to have freeze pops in your freezer).

Odwalla

Image by mae919 via Flickr

Do you think any of this post’s product placements will yield food freebies?  Ship it to my California address!

Also, look what I did today!!  Coming soon to a mailbox near you, but probably not your mailbox.

11eighteen11

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 14:10:45

    Oh. My. God.

    Can I come over and drink that fruit slush (frush?) with you? I want fall to appear n.o.w.

    Also – love Food Should Taste Good chips – Pat eats a 1/2 bag of the blue corn when we have “Mexican Night.”

    Reply

    • californiacurls
      Jul 22, 2011 @ 16:24:57

      of course! frush for all!! (i legitimately think this is an excellent product idea for Odwalla.) also, i just decided to stick my legs in a bathtub full of cold water . . . it was heavenly.

      Reply

  2. Nnnnat-han!
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 23:31:53

    I may be biased (or bi, as some refer to me as “cali-homo”) but you’re damn good writer, Weinberg. See you next week, cutie! ;o)

    Reply

  3. There'sareasontheycallmestubbs
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 00:21:52

    I just found your blog! And you wrote about the heat. And you are moving to California… which is sad because then you can’t sit next to me at the movies, especially because I know you love having thorough discourse during beautiful oscar worthy moments like when the Rock fights Vin Diesal in the most ethnically androgynous movie fight scene of all time in Fast Five. But I digress. I will miss you.

    Once you go west, well, you know the rest of the saying. It has something to do with big shoes.

    Reply

  4. There'sareasontheycallmestubbs
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 00:44:35

    aaaaaand i spelled diesal wrong. so embarrassed.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: all my life i’ve been searching for something . . . « california vernacular

Leave a Reply

